Author Topic: Apply VSTs to sample and save  (Read 3493 times)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,128
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Apply VSTs to sample and save
« on: June 27, 2009, 16:55:24 »
Okay, I'll just post it here so I don't forget about it (and maybe someone else is faster in implementhing this :P)...

VST effects can quite hog your CPU. Sometimes, it's wiser to apply them to a sample, render the sample to wave, load the wave and remove the VST effects. However, this is quite tricky to do at the moment, as it has to be done using a pattern. That way, sample loops can't be kept and the sample length might not be the same as before. So I think it would be a good idea to have an option to render a sample using the currently loaded global VST effects directly into a sample slot.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Harbinger

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: Windows XP
Apply VSTs to sample and save
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2009, 21:57:07 »
Oh i'd love to have that. Being able to free up CPU from VSTs would give me more overhead for playback, which translates into more open creativity.

Many times i just needed a "one-shot" sound from a VST (usually as a transition or bridge riff), but that means i would have to load it and keep it "in queue" even though i only need one note from it. Even tho it might cost me file size (for the sample data), i'd rather have more portability and less clutter in my VST list.

Perhaps if there were a dialog to "Record From" a VSTi, and then an input for the note or notes you want to play (perhaps use a mini-pattern editor with one or two columns). But then again, i'm not coding the thing! :)

Offline Sam_Zen

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,689
    • http://www.xs4all.nl/~samzen/
Apply VSTs to sample and save
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2009, 00:40:41 »
Support ++
0.618033988

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,937
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 7 (x64bit)
Apply VSTs to sample and save
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2009, 08:26:08 »
As long as there's the option to make the sample longer if the plugins demand that (like echo/reverb/etc) otherwise, it'd be pointless.

Also, a manual duration should be set (like loop the sample 10 times)
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Rakib

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 880
  • Operating System: win7x64
Apply VSTs to sample and save
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2010, 11:09:11 »
Oh, haven't seen this request before. Would be really cool to have.
^^

Offline sso

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Operating System: win 7 (64)
Re: Apply VSTs to sample and save
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2012, 02:30:55 »
so what happened to this idea?

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,128
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: Apply VSTs to sample and save
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2012, 13:57:45 »
Nothing?
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.