Author Topic: Pinned channels in pattern editor  (Read 3848 times)

Offline Nahkranoth

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 551
  • Gender: Male
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« on: March 11, 2009, 11:10:28 »
Yesterday I thought that it would be good if there will be such an ability to pin some channels to see them no matter if the view scrolled out somewhere far away. As for me when I don't see the main channels (bass|drum) it's kinda hard when you've got more channels that can fit on the screen.

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,935
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 7 (x64bit)
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2009, 13:31:33 »
You mean, like how that was possible in Impulse Tracker?
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Nahkranoth

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 551
  • Gender: Male
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2009, 14:25:54 »
Erm, I don't know how it was before :D I started tracking in 2005 and there was MPT already :oops:
Like, pinned channels appear to the left, and always stay there.

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,114
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2009, 14:31:07 »
As you speak about bass and drum channels, do you need them for orientation? Then you may enable "highlight every x rows", if you haven't done so already.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline bvanoudtshoorn

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,053
  • Gender: Male
    • Barryvan
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2009, 23:21:16 »
I think that what Nahkranoth is talking about is something akin to the functionality in Excel, Calc and Gnumeric called 'Freeze Panes'.

Pics always help. :)


Nine cells, displayed normally. If I scroll, they all move.


The same nine cells, but with a split between A-B and 1-2. If I scroll now, the cells in column A and the cells in row 1 don't move, but the rest of the cells do. In other words, column A and row 1 are always visible. (If you're a web developer, just think position:fixed and you'll get it.)

As far as I can tell, what Nahkranoth means is that you could make channels 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 always stay in view, whilst the others scroll around horizontally. I think that it would have to be all channels from 1 to x, because having fixed channels in the middle of the lot wouldn't really work, IMO. But that's not a huge problem given the channel manager.

And for those who notice that the headers aren't anti-aliased, and the cell font isn't subpixel hinted, and recall my desire for nice antialiasing, I should point out that the problem is OpenOffice.org's use of a statically linked Freetype library, which means that my Freetype settings (used in the rest of my Linux box) aren't applied.

Offline Nahkranoth

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 551
  • Gender: Male
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2009, 08:10:23 »
Yes! Exactly! Haven't thought of Excel though, it is a nice example, but not that complex, I think :gjob:  :welldone:
Quote from: "Jojo"
As you speak about bass and drum channels, do you need them for orientation? Then you may enable "highlight every x rows", if you haven't done so already.

Yes, for orientation indeed, my English was somewhere else when I tried to explain the feature :D

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,935
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 7 (x64bit)
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2009, 12:15:23 »
The Impulse Tracker freeze option is a bit more suffisticated though.

You can set any channel to freeze and it appears on the left screen with a seperator in between to see where the other channels are.

The biggest difference between IT's functionality and Excell's Freeze panes functionality is that in IT you can select any channel. They don't have to be next to eachother so you could have a view like this:

Chan2, Chan5, Chan8|Chan1, Chan2, Chan3,Chan4
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Nahkranoth

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 551
  • Gender: Male
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2009, 13:46:20 »
That's the right example, LPChip! Just as I thought!

Offline Really Weird Person

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 818
  • I love Daisy (デイジー)!
  • Operating System: Windows 8 Pro x64
Freezing Panes
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2009, 15:50:00 »
That would be a nice thing to see indeed. See, what did I tell you about Excel? :lol: Actually, I discovered that data can be transferred from Modplug Tracker to Excel and back. I thougt that was interesting.

Although, it is interesting how, when you freeze both a colum and a row (unless that is not what I am looking at in the second image, that could simply be a border and a hidden column, or an image that saved poorly.), column B and row 2 are hidden.

Just a note for future reference, when referring to cell addresses, the subscript is not necessary. That is great for chemistry though, such as H2O (where the 2 is subscripted) for water (or even simply H2 for hydrogen) (where the 2 is once again subscripted).

Offline g

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 280
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2009, 21:25:08 »
Quote from: "LPChip"
The biggest difference between IT's functionality and Excell's Freeze panes functionality is that in IT you can select any channel.

Considering how easy it is to move a column in Excel, that's kind of a non-issue... Anyway, good feature suggestion!

Offline Sam_Zen

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,689
    • http://www.xs4all.nl/~samzen/
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2009, 00:17:41 »
Although I don't use channel names, I think this would benefit a good survey.
0.618033988

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,114
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2009, 07:19:29 »
I fail to see how this is in anway connected to channel names. :?
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Really Weird Person

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 818
  • I love Daisy (デイジー)!
  • Operating System: Windows 8 Pro x64
Freezing Panes
« Reply #12 on: October 27, 2009, 15:05:43 »
I am uncertain of the connection myself.

Offline g

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 280
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« Reply #13 on: October 27, 2009, 15:46:09 »
Another solution is to buy a wider screen.  :wink:

Offline Waxhead

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 250
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.dirtcellar.net
  • Operating System: WinXP , Linux
Pinned channels in pattern editor
« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2009, 20:44:12 »
I just feel like this again calls for the group channel feature I suggested a few years ago ;)

http://forum.openmpt.org/index.php?topic=888.0