Author Topic: Clip indicator.  (Read 17847 times)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,250
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Clip indicator.
« Reply #45 on: December 02, 2008, 14:25:10 »
sorry, your text is too long. :P I guess there's a 256 char limit in resource files or something like that... but it works if i set it directly from the sourcecode, so that's no problem.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline xaimus

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Clip indicator.
« Reply #46 on: December 02, 2008, 17:57:15 »
it'd make more sense to completely remove the built-in EQ (and AGC, and noise reduction, and bass expansion, and user-selectable reverb/surround)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,250
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Clip indicator.
« Reply #47 on: December 02, 2008, 18:27:47 »
i wouldn't go that far. there are some #defines in the code which can disable certain features. but some tracks do sound better with some of the options being enabled (i always have surround on, for example, and it sounds a lot better)... but yeah, AGC sucks.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,956
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro N (x64bit)
Clip indicator.
« Reply #48 on: December 02, 2008, 19:41:19 »
I always have it off, because if you enable some of it, it will enhance the wrong way. I'd rather do surround or reverb or whatever using a plugin on the master channel.

I vote for a complete removal :P
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,250
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Clip indicator.
« Reply #49 on: December 02, 2008, 20:01:21 »
And I vote against it! :nuts: Listening to old mods with surround on makes them a lot more enjoyable. XMPlay has autogain/reverb/surround, too! :nuts:
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline psishock

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: win8(64)
Clip indicator.
« Reply #50 on: December 02, 2008, 21:48:41 »
there is really no need for complete removal, the user choice is the best option. This way if someone want to listen to songs with these extra settings, it won't be a problem, and "us" who don't, just will keep those checkboxes white.
I'm as calm as a synth without a player.  (Sam_Zen)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,250
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Clip indicator.
« Reply #51 on: May 12, 2009, 17:30:02 »
Hm. Fastmix.cpp has some nice sample converting functions like X86_Convert32To32 that have clipping prevention. This could be used to switch a flag for the sample clip indicator.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,250
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: Clip indicator.
« Reply #52 on: April 05, 2013, 15:10:34 »
4 pages of useless talk later... I have something in the works. Might still take a while to implement (certainly won't make it into the next release).
Toolbar VU meters with clip indicator!
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline .^o

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 537
  • .^o GRAVOS
    • gravos
Re: Clip indicator.
« Reply #53 on: April 05, 2013, 17:14:48 »

yes!!
it's christmas almost every day with you jojo!
thanks  8)
MPT-FR
excuse please my english, i'm french ^^

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,956
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro N (x64bit)
Re: Clip indicator.
« Reply #54 on: April 05, 2013, 17:57:13 »
Oh this is awesome! Me wants, me wants!!!! :D

I don't love you Jojo, but thats only because you're male and I am too. :P
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,250
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: Clip indicator.
« Reply #55 on: April 07, 2013, 23:27:25 »
Revision 1773 adds a VU meter with clip indicator to the main toolbar. http://sagagames.de/stuff/mptrack.exe
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline .^o

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 537
  • .^o GRAVOS
    • gravos
Re: Clip indicator.
« Reply #56 on: April 08, 2013, 05:36:03 »
rapid tests.
perfect.
MPT-FR
excuse please my english, i'm french ^^