Author Topic: Clip indicator.  (Read 16622 times)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Clip indicator.
« Reply #15 on: August 23, 2008, 23:22:41 »
sorry, but just adding a FFT VST for a rather essential feature is not a good solution imo.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Sam_Zen

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,689
    • http://www.xs4all.nl/~samzen/
Clip indicator.
« Reply #16 on: August 23, 2008, 23:29:26 »
I agree
0.618033988

Offline psishock

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: win8(64)
Clip indicator.
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2008, 01:04:45 »
For FFT i meant what i've used on my cases, i mostly like to monitor as much as i can. I'm sure that there are many simple VU meter VSTs with clip indicators, or any similar ones with less or more features. Finding one that suit your problem shouldn't be much trouble.
Why am i suggesting so recklessly the VSTs on this case?
- mostly the VSTs are already made and working perfectly. (no need to mess with new code/debug and stuff)
- they are most likely more flexible because of the plugin system and tweakable than a hardcoded gui extension in "general tab" example.
- VSTs are "allways on top", you can be on general, instrument, pattern, or any other desired tab, and still will able to monitor/tweak it.
- VST gui can be moved anywhere the user wants it.
- from a number of VSTs, people can more easy locate the one that suits them best (features and functionality example)

(please don't feel that i'm disregarding your idea, i'm just telling my thought and ideas about it, and (as always) trying to help with the best solution for the problem)
I'm as calm as a synth without a player.  (Sam_Zen)

Offline Sam_Zen

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,689
    • http://www.xs4all.nl/~samzen/
Clip indicator.
« Reply #18 on: August 24, 2008, 01:50:17 »
I'm not disregarding anything. The existence of plugins with an application is a very efficient situation.
This is valid for tools with effects, making sounds, but also for monitoring things, if needed.
0.618033988

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Clip indicator.
« Reply #19 on: August 24, 2008, 13:36:34 »
Quote from: "psishock"
For FFT i meant what i've used on my cases, i mostly like to monitor as much as i can. I'm sure that there are many simple VU meter VSTs with clip indicators, or any similar ones with less or more features.

this is not my point. my point is that something tiny but also essential should be built into mpt. i don't want to rely on VSTs which i have to download first and load into MPT everytime i start a module just to see if there's room for more volume or not.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline bvanoudtshoorn

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,053
  • Gender: Male
    • Barryvan
Clip indicator.
« Reply #20 on: August 24, 2008, 14:12:23 »
I agree - a clip indicator should be standard. And it should either be on the Patterns tab or in the toolbar. Perhaps we could have a small, sideways VU and clip indicator on the toolbar? That'd be nice and unobtrusive.

Offline psishock

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: win8(64)
Clip indicator.
« Reply #21 on: August 24, 2008, 15:29:03 »
I can totally undestand your point Jojo. It most definetely won't hurt to have one, especially for those who don't wana get involved with plugins.

Quote
i don't want to rely on VSTs which i have to download first and load into MPT everytime i start a module just to see if there's room for more volume or not.

When you start a new module, you also load your samples/instruments first, or VSTis, and you search for new ones, from time to time, on the internet or any other source.
Setting up and customising your "virtual studio" (wich normally should take a few seconds to a minute max) when you start composing should not be a burden for anybody imo, nor gathering the most comfortable tools for work.

I've grown to like VST plugin idea more than the embed OMPT extensions (for several reasons), so to me, it won't mean much difference, propably will leave that unused too.
Also, i wana have my working space clean as possible, having tools, skins all the times in front of my eyes that i don't or won't need will not please me. =) Now, i'm not saying that this practicular VU meter and clipping indicator feature would make me discomfortable, but more similar gui extensions that i won't necessarily use, most likely will.
I've mainly choosed OMPT because it has the most cleaner and faster working arrea (pattern tab to be specific, it's perfect to work with, it's also very flexible), got a VST support and i could customise my keyboard keys for the most fastest and comfortable work.
I like it this way, when it's like Firefox, got a minimal gui with nice customisation system, and there are tousands of powefull plugins for any additional personal needs, that you can handpick. (i use Opera, but thats really another subject :wink: )
I'm as calm as a synth without a player.  (Sam_Zen)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Clip indicator.
« Reply #22 on: August 24, 2008, 15:44:28 »
Quote
When you start a new module, you also load your samples/instruments first, or VSTis, and you search for new ones, from time to time, on the internet or any other source. [...]
well, we had a talk about "template modules" here already... That may come in handy as well.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline psishock

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: win8(64)
Clip indicator.
« Reply #23 on: August 24, 2008, 15:52:22 »
"template modules"? means that i don't have to set up the general song or pattern properties, load my custom VST(i)s when i dont feel like to, and similar?
-nods- that would be really handy indeed.
I'm as calm as a synth without a player.  (Sam_Zen)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Clip indicator.
« Reply #24 on: August 24, 2008, 19:15:51 »
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline phanoo

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Clip indicator.
« Reply #25 on: September 11, 2008, 12:38:31 »
I can now submit modifications to modplug's development files, so I will maybe try to add the peak function...
For the moment I don't understand all the source code, so I will see if I can do that
Sorry for my approximative english

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Clip indicator.
« Reply #26 on: December 01, 2008, 15:25:02 »
Code: [Select]
#define CLIP_SOUND(v) v = v < -1.0f ? -1.0f : v > 1.0f ? 1.0f : v
i found this macro in the sourcecode (ctrl_smp.cpp). is that the key to the clip indicator...? :lol:
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,949
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 7 (x64bit)
Clip indicator.
« Reply #27 on: December 01, 2008, 15:56:32 »
I would say so. The equasion either gives a -1 or a 1. But then again, maybe its to round sound when you amplify it.

EDIT: now I'm sure. This isn't the clip indicator. Its to make sure that the value stays between -1 and 1 volts.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Clip indicator.
« Reply #28 on: December 01, 2008, 16:01:17 »
WHAT? :nuts:

Quote
The equasion either gives a -1 or a 1

wrong. it's a ternary "if" statement.
- IF v < -1 THEN set it to -1
- IF v > +1 THEN set it to +1
That's because the sounds is handled as float values which may not exceed the range from -1 to +1.

Quote
Its to make sure that the value stays between -1 and 1 volts.

what the hell are you talking about? :nuts: volts in mpt? :P
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,949
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 7 (x64bit)
Clip indicator.
« Reply #29 on: December 01, 2008, 16:12:11 »
Since audio programming works with Volts, I suspect the audio flow, designated with a v is ment for Volts.

My EDIT actually was referring to the fact that I was correcting myself, so the first part is indeed wrong, but I mentioned that myself.

What I say that the function does is checking if its outside of the boundaries -1 to 1. If so, it sets the boundary, if not, it sets v.

If it would be a clip indicator switch as you're asking, it wouldn't need -1 to 1 range, but only a simple boolean.

So then what would it be usefull for? If you, in the sample editor have a waveform and you would say... amplify it by 1000% you will be ensured of clipping. It will first do the amplification, but then cut off everything thats outside the -1 to 1 range.

Happy?

Oh and: Don't do Drugs. Drugs'r bad.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs